Which 6 Top-Rated Rehab Facilities Should Massachusetts Substance Abuse Treatment Seekers Compare?

Which six? The ones that cover the main routes into care in Massachusetts: a holistic outpatient program north of Boston, a virtual-friendly outpatient center south of it, two academic hospitals, a hospital-based medication service and a nonprofit safety net, each judged on what it does rather than on a star average.

Quick picks

  • New Wave Recovery Center: holistic outpatient care on the North Shore
  • Refresh Recovery & Wellness: virtual outpatient care statewide
  • McLean Hospital: psychiatric complexity
  • High Point Treatment Center: care regardless of ability to pay

The Levels of Care in Brief

Treatment runs on a ladder. At the top sits detox, where withdrawal is managed under medical supervision for several days, followed at some providers by clinical stabilization and then residential care, which means living on site for weeks.

Below that come the outpatient rungs. Partial hospitalization, or day treatment, fills most of the weekday while patients sleep at home. Intensive outpatient programs meet a few times a week, often in the evening. Standard outpatient care and medication clinics are the lightest touch.

The six providers here are spread across that ladder. Two focus on outpatient care, two hospitals reach from detox to day programs, one centers on medication and one nonprofit covers most rungs for public-pay patients. Many people use more than one of them over the course of recovery, for example detox at a hospital followed by day treatment at an outpatient center.

What Treatment Costs and Who Pays

Only one provider in this group posts a price: McLean's Fernside residence, at $70,500 for 30 days and paid privately. Everyone else quotes after a free benefits check.

Coverage is the real variable, and it is worth settling before comparing anything else. New Wave is in network with WellSense, which is how it accepts MassHealth, and takes out-of-network benefits for other plans. Refresh says it takes most major insurance but is silent on MassHealth. BMC Grayken accepts MassHealth and WellSense. McLean limits MassHealth to outpatient addiction care and usually requires precertification. High Point accepts public and private plans and, per GuideStar, serves patients regardless of ability to pay.

Five Ways to Narrow the Field

Most families compare ratings first; the more useful order is the reverse. Start with medical safety: anyone at risk in withdrawal needs detox, either on site or by referral. Then match the setting to home life, since outpatient care requires a stable place to live. Check coverage by exact plan name. Look at geography, especially for programs that meet daily. Finally, ask how the program handles the next step after its own stage ends. Ratings, if you check them, belong at the end: read several sources, note the review count and look for comments about the specific facility.

#1 New Wave Recovery Center

New Wave's address, 46 Toll Road in Salisbury, puts it within reach of Newburyport, Amesbury, Newbury and Ipswich, and the program coordinates transportation across a wider service area that stretches to Haverhill, Lawrence and Andover and west to Fitchburg and Gardner. For North Shore residents, that matters more than any rating: daily outpatient care only works when people can get there.

The care itself is outpatient and holistic. Day treatment runs about six weeks, IOP about three months with daytime or evening groups, and relapse prevention up to six months, and the center says one primary therapist stays with each client through PHP and IOP. Holistic sessions, from Reiki and sound baths to recovery yoga and art therapy, are scheduled daily, according to the center, alongside CBT, DBT and medication management.

The owners, a family, are all in long-term recovery and answer intake calls themselves, and intake can happen as soon as the next day. Detox and residential care are referred out, and sober living is arranged through partners. Dedicated tracks serve first responders, couples and people using substances from opioids and stimulants to kratom and Adderall, and alumni receive a check-in call at 90 days.

Key features:

  • Daily holistic practice within PHP and IOP
  • Evening IOP track
  • Transportation coordinated across the service area
  • Joint Commission seal displayed; LegitScript Certified

Pricing: Not published. Free assessment and benefits verification; WellSense in network.

#2 Refresh Recovery & Wellness

Refresh is the South Shore's counterpart to New Wave in format: an outpatient-only program in Norwell running day treatment, IOP and ongoing outpatient care, each in men's, women's and virtual versions.

Day treatment lasts about 2 to 4 weeks at 5 to 6 days a week, and IOP about 4 to 8 weeks, mornings or evenings, with ongoing outpatient care after that. The therapy list includes EMDR, trauma therapy, music therapy and holistic therapy, and tracks serve veterans, professionals and people with gambling addiction.

The site names no accreditor and describes its staff partly through a sister brand, so ask about both when calling. Its podcast calls it one of the state's top-rated programs, but that is the company's own description rather than an outside ranking. Detox is coordinated through placement with other providers.

Key features:

  • Virtual PHP and IOP statewide
  • Gender-specific groups
  • 24/7 admissions

Pricing: Not published. Most major insurance accepted, per the company.

#3 BMC Grayken Center for Addiction

Grayken is a medication-first service at New England's largest safety-net hospital. Its clinic prescribes buprenorphine and naltrexone and starts methadone, its Faster Paths urgent care handles walk-in opioid cases and its consult team sees hospitalized patients.

Dedicated programs serve pregnant patients, children and adolescents. The center also trains fellows in addiction medicine, psychiatry and nursing and publishes more than 150 research papers a year. It was established in 2017 with a $25 million gift, the largest in the hospital's history.

There is no residential care, detox unit or day program. That makes Grayken a strong partner for someone who wants medication quickly while living at home, but a poor fit for anyone who needs daily structure. About 2,500 patient visits a month pass through its programs, and naloxone is available at every BMC pharmacy.

Key features:

  • Office-based medication treatment
  • Opioid urgent care
  • Pregnancy and pediatric programs

Pricing: Not published. MassHealth, WellSense and commercial plans accepted.

#4 McLean Hospital

McLean treats addiction alongside serious psychiatric illness within a Harvard-affiliated hospital. Its Belmont campus runs inpatient detox and a partial hospital program, Naukeag in Petersham offers residential and partial hospital care, and Fernside in Princeton is a nine-bed self-pay residence.

Fernside placed first in Massachusetts on Newsweek's 2024 and 2025 lists, and Naukeag placed tenth in 2025. A LEADER program serves law enforcement, active duty military and emergency personnel, and the hospital hosts AA, NA and SMART Recovery meetings.

No IOP or evening option is described on the addiction pages, so a separate outpatient provider is often part of the plan. MassHealth covers only outpatient addiction care at McLean, per the hospital, and insurers usually precertify inpatient and day treatment. The division is led by Roger D. Weiss, MD.

Key features:

  • Psychiatric hospital resources
  • Several residential settings
  • First responder program

Pricing: Fernside: $70,500 for 30 days, self-pay. Belmont and Naukeag: insurance based.

#5 High Point Treatment Center

High Point is the broadest public-pay network in southeastern Massachusetts, with detox and stabilization in Plymouth and Brockton, Section 35 programs, methadone clinics, outpatient counseling and six recovery homes.

A state-certified community behavioral health clinic adds 24/7 crisis services and fast-track assessment, and the nonprofit's New Bedford women's program placed third in the state on Newsweek's 2025 list, after fourth-place finishes in 2023 and 2024.

Its reach ends at the southeast, so residents of the North Shore, Central Massachusetts or the western counties will need a provider closer to home. Within it, the nonprofit, founded in 1996 and employing more than 500 people, also runs transitional support services, impaired driving programs and family shelters. Third-party sources report Joint Commission accreditation and certification for its opioid treatment programs.

Key features:

  • Care regardless of ability to pay, per GuideStar
  • Section 35 programs for men and women
  • Opioid treatment programs

Pricing: Not published. Sliding fee scale, per third-party listings.

#6 Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

Brigham's Addiction Recovery Program joins addiction psychiatry with general medicine in Jamaica Plain. Detox runs on a unit integrated with a medicine unit, and a weekday day program treats substance use alongside psychiatric disorders.

A two-week evening program and outpatient medication treatment, including Suboxone, Vivitrol and Sublocade, round out the services, and the Bridge Clinic offers rapid access for people ready to start. Outpatient visits can also be virtual.

There is no residential program. The day program runs from 9 am to early afternoon on weekdays with daily individual counseling, and the evening groups are capped at nine. Addiction psychiatrists and licensed clinical social workers lead care, under Division of Addiction Psychiatry director Joji Suzuki, MD, MSc.

Key features:

  • Hospital-based detox
  • Dual diagnosis day program
  • Rapid-access clinic

Pricing: Not published; hospital billing.

The Six at a Glance

Provider

Setting

Evening option

Published price

New Wave Recovery Center

Outpatient

Yes, IOP

No

Refresh Recovery & Wellness

Outpatient and virtual

Yes, IOP

No

BMC Grayken Center for Addiction

Hospital clinic

Not stated

No

McLean Hospital

Psychiatric hospital

Not described

Fernside only

High Point Treatment Center

Nonprofit network

Not stated

No

Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

General hospital

Two-week program

No